Castles, wines and forests: Wachau, a World Heritage Site

Castles, wines and forests: Wachau, a World Heritage Site

Vineyards, castles and historic villages in Central European river landscape

The region known as the Wachau occupies a 30 km strip of the Danube Valley between the cities of Krems and Melk. The area was named a World Heritage Site by UNESCO in 2000 due to its natural beauty in harmony with its architectural landmarks, which include numerous castles, monasteries and ruins. Along this stretch the Danube flows through a narrow valley sandwiched between the Bohemian Massif and the Dunkelsteiner Forest, lined with terraced vineyards and dotted with historical towns and medieval villages. High night-day temperature fluctuations contribute to the special aroma of the wines and this is where Austria's most famous wines, including Grüner Veltliner, are produced.

Austria Round Trips Wachau

Haven’t found what you are looking for?
Request a personal quote

Attractions Wachau


Oldest city in Lower Austria

Krems, the oldest city in Lower Austria, is surrounded by vineyards and is part of the UNESCO World Heritage Cultural Landscape of Wachau. The town is famous for its medieval gate called the “Steiner Tor.” A Capuchin monastery called “Kloster Und” is located in front of the gates. Today, the monastery houses wine cellars, conference rooms and museums devoted to art and caricature. The old town of Stein, where hardly anything has changed for centuries, is only a short walk from here.

Curious about our tours?

Alle Austria Round Trips anzeigen